Bloc Party Birmingham 2022: date, are tickets still available for O2 Academy gig - and what is the setlist?

The rock band are kicking off their 2022 tour in Birmingham

London rock band Bloc Party are out on tour following the release of their latest album ‘Alpha Games’

A nationwide tour is underway, and this includes a visit to the O2 Academy right here in Birmingham.

Sign up to our BirminghamWorld Today newsletter

Ahead of the Birmingham gig, here’s what you need to know including if tickets are still available, what the setlist could be, and where else the band is touring.

When is the Birmingham gig?

Bloc Party’s show in Birmingham takes place on Thursday, 26 May at the O2 Academy.

Where else are they playing?

The Birmingham gig is the first date of the tour, which is set to run into June and see the band visit eight cities.

The tour ends on Saturday, 4 June in Leeds.

The full list of tour dates for Bloc Party is below

  • 26 May - O2 Academy Birmingham
  • 27 May - Rock City Nottingham
  • 28 May - Alexandra Palace O2 Brixton London
  • 30 May - O2 Academy Bristol
  • 31 May - O2 Victoria Warehouse Manchester
  • 2 June - O2 City Hall Newcastle
  • 3 June - Barrowland Ballroom Glasgow
  • 4 June - O2 Academy Leeds

Can I get tickets?

Tickets for the Bloc Party show in Birmingham are still on sale, for both standing and balcony areas.

Balcony unreserved seating and standing tickets are available for £25, whilst standing tickets can be purchased for just under £35.

These tickets can be bought through Ticketmaster.

What is the setlist for the tour?

As the tour is yet to start, it is hard to tell exactly what the set list will be for when Bloc Party perform in Birmingham.

We can expect to see a splash of songs from the new album as well as some of the more famous tracks the band have created over the years.

According to, this is the setlist Bloc Party played at a gig in Utrecht, Amsterdam on 17 May.

This may be an indication as to what the band will play in Birmingham.

  • Day Drinker
  • You Should Know the Truth
  • Hunting for Witches
  • Rough Justice
  • Real Talk
  • Song for Clay (Disappear Here)
  • Banquet
  • In Situ
  • Sex Magik
  • By Any Means Necessary
  • Different Drugs
  • The Peace Offering
  • The Prayer
  • Ratchet


  • Traps
  • If We Get Caught
  • Flux
  • Helicopter
  • This Modern Love

Who are Bloc Party?

Bloc Party are an English rock band, composed of Kele Okereke (lead vocals, rhythm guitar, keyboards, sampler), Russell Lissack (lead guitar, keyboards), Justin Harris (bass guitar, keyboards, saxophones, backing vocals) and Louise Bartle (drums, percussion).

The band were formed at Reading Festival in 1999 and went through several band names before settling on Bloc Party in 2003.

Bloc Party’s sound has been described as many genres and subgenres, with some of these being Bloc Party’s musical style has been described as indie rock, post-punk revival, post-Britpop, alternative rock, art punk, art rock dance-rock, and alternative dance.

It is for this reason why perhaps the band have remained as one of the most recognisable bands in the UK music scene for so many years.

Bloc Party have produced six studio albums, which are listed below

  • Silent Alarm (2005)
  • A Weekend in the City (2007)
  • Intimacy (2008)
  • Four (2012)
  • Hymns (2016)
  • Alpha Games (2022)