Aston Villa leave combined £64.5m talents out of Europa Conference League squad

Aston Villa had to submit their squad list to governing body UEFA - and £64.5m worth of talent has been excluded.

Watch more of our videos on Shots!
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Aston Villa have left out three players after submitting their squad list for their Europa Conference League campaign.

Villa had to submit a squad list to UEFA last week, and as a result three players have missed out but it will come as no surprise. Emi Buendia and Tyrone Mings do not feature in the squad, as both are expected to be out for an extended period, meanwhile Kourtney Hause is not on the list either.

Buendia and Mings are both contending with knee injuries and their 2023/24 campaign is likely to be over before it's really begun. Mings sustained his knee injury in the defeat to Newcastle United on the opening weekend of the Premier League season while Buendia took a knock in training.

Kourtney Hause meanwhile has not featured in any games for Villa this season, despite there being an opportunity of rotation when the first leg result against Hibernian was secure. The 28-year-old is still contracted to Villa but does not feature in Unai Emery's plans, and last played a game for the club in January 2022. He joined Watford on a season-long loan last year but made just three appearances and returned to Villa Park in February but did not feature in any match-day squad.

Aston Villa's group kicks off against Legia Warsaw in Poland on September 21, before playing Zrinjski at Villa Park on October 5. Villa's group stage concludes on December 14, and should they progress and make any signings in the January transfer window, they would be permitted to make changes for the knockout rounds which take place in February.

Aston Villa Villa Europa Conference League squad

Goalkeepers: Emiliano Martinez, Robin Olsen, Filip Marschall Oliwer Zych James Wright.

Defenders: Matty Cash, Diego Carlos, Ezri Konsa, Lucas Digne, Pau Torres, Alex Moreno, Calum Chambers, Clement Lenglet, Ben Chrisene, Sil Swinkels, Jayden Barber, Sebastian Revan, Josh Feeney, Aaron O’Reilly, Frankie Ealing, Finley Munroe

Midfielders: Douglas Luiz, John McGinn, Youri Tielemans, Bertrand Traore, Leander Dendoncker, Jacob Ramsey, Boubacar Kamara, Edward Rowe, Taylor-Jay Hart, Ajani Burchall, Tommi O’Reilly, Chisom Afoka, Travis Patterson, Kyrie Pierre Kadan Young

Forwards: Ollie Watkins, Moussa Diaby, Nicolo Zaniolo, Jhon Duran, Leon Bailey