Commonwealth Games 2022 countries: which nations and territories will compete in Birmingham - entry explained

33 nations have so far won at least one medal at Birmingham 2022
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

The eyes of the sporting world remain fixed on Birmingham as the Commonwelath Games continue to light up the region.

The games are a celebration of sport and promote the nations who are part of the Commonwealth.

Here is a run down of which nations and territories are sending a team to Birmingham, and a look at which teams have appeared at every Commonwealth Games in the last 90 years.

When are the 2022 Commonwealth Games?

Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games Queen’s Baton Relay in PakistanBirmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games Queen’s Baton Relay in Pakistan
Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games Queen’s Baton Relay in Pakistan

The 2022 Commonwealth Games, which will be the 24th occasion that the games have been played, begins on Thursday, 28 July.

They will be held at venues, both indoors and outdoors, located across Birmingham and the West Midlands.

The games conclude with a closing ceremony on Monday, 8 August.

Which countries are taking part in the 2022 Commonwealth Games?

The nations competing at the 2022 Commonwealth Games (Graphic: Mark Hill) The nations competing at the 2022 Commonwealth Games (Graphic: Mark Hill)
The nations competing at the 2022 Commonwealth Games (Graphic: Mark Hill)

In total 72 teams will take part in the 2022 Games, this number consists of 54 countries and 18 territories.

Six teams have competed at every Commonwealth Games since the inaugural tournament of 1930 which took place in Hamilton, New Zealand.

The six ever present teams are Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales.

The full list of every team taking part in the 2022 Commonwealth Games is listed below

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Bangladesh 
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Botswana
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Cook Islands
  • Cyprus
  • Dominica
  • England
  • Eswatini
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada
  • Guernsey
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Isle of Man
  • Jamaica
  • Jersey
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Nigeria
  • Niue
  • Norfolk Island
  • Northern Ireland
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Scotland
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • St Helena
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Tanzania
  • The Gambia
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Wales
  • Zambia

What is the Commonwealth?

The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 54 independent and equal countries.

Many of these are small island nations, all of which will be attending the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

The original Commonwealth was made up of countries which were once part of the British Empire, but now any country can join the modern Commonwealth.

The last country to enter the modern Commonwealth was Rwanda, who joined in 2009.

A spokesperson for the group said: [The Commonwealth] is home to 2.5 billion people, and includes both advanced economies and developing countries.

“32 of our members are small states, including many island nations.

“Our member governments have agreed to shared goals like development, democracy and peace.

“Our values and principles are expressed in the Commonwealth Charter.

“The Commonwealth’s roots go back to the British Empire. But today any country can join the modern Commonwealth.”

Can I still buy tickets?

The final batch of tickets for the 2022 Commonwealth Games was released to the public on 19 April 2022, and many of these tickets are still up for grabs.

Tickets for various events are on sale through the official website of the Commonwealth Games.