Birmingham local election results 2022: who won council elections in my area?

Councils will continue to declare results throughout Friday

Counting and declaration of votes and results in the 2022 Local elections has been going on throughout the night and into this morning.

Dust is beginning to settle on this year’s elections, and results across the country will continue to be confirmied throughout the day.

Results in areas of the West Midlands will be declared throughout the day, and the formation of Birmingham City, Sandwell, and Solihull Councils will become clear by tonight.

Here is a run down of the results across all three of the councils, including the voter turnout for each council and the new political structuring of each council.

Birmingham City Council

Birmingham City Council began counting results at 9am this morning (Friday, May 6), and results will be published here when they are confirmed.

The count is at Utilita Arena in Birmingham city centre. Check our live blog for the latest.

Below is the full list of winning candidates from each ward in Birmingham City Council from the 2022 Local Elections.

Included in each listing is the number of votes for each candidate in each ward, with results being provided by Birmingham City Council.

  • Acocks Green - Elected - Roger Kingdon Harmer - LIB DEM HOLD and Penny Wagg - LIB DEM GAIN
  • Heartlands - Elected - Shafique Shah - LAB HOLD
  • Allens Cross - Elected - Jack Deakin - LAB & CO-OP GAIN
  • Alum Rock - Elected - Mohammed Idrees - LAB HOLD and Mariam Khan - LAB HOLD
  • Aston - Elected - Mumtaz Hussain - LIB DEM GAIN and Ayoub Khan - LIB DEM GAIN
  • Hall Green North - Elected - Akhlaq Ahmed - LAB HOLD and Saima Suleman - LAB HOLD
  • Hall Green South - Elected - Timothy Luke Huxtable - CON HOLD
  • Handsworth - Elected - Hendrina QuInnen - LAB HOLD
  • Handsworth Wood - Elected - Gurdial Singh Atwal - LAB HOLD and Narinder Kaur Kooner - LAB HOLD
  • Harborne - Elected - Martin John Books - LAB & CO-OP GAIN and Jayne Francis - LAB & CO-OP HOLD
  • Heartlands - Elected - Shafique Shah - LAB HOLD
  • Highters Heath - Elected - Adam Andrew Higgs - CON HOLD
  • Longbridge and West Heath - Elected - Debbie Clancy - CON HOLD and Ron Storer - CON GAIN
  • Lozells - Elected - Waseem Zaffar - LAB & CO-OP HOLD
  • Moseley - Elected - Kerry Shaunna Jenkins - LAB HOLD and Izzy Knowles - LIB DEM GAIN
  • Nechells - Elected - Lee Marsham - LAB HOLD
  • Newtown - Elected - Zia Islam - LAB HOLD
  • North Edgbaston - Elected - Marcus George Bernasconi - LAB HOLD and Sharon Anne-Marie Thompson - LAB HOLD
  • Northfield - Elected - Kirsten Kurt-Elli - LAB HOLD
  • Oscott - Elected - Barbara Dring - LAB HOLD and Daruis Sandhu - CON HOLD
  • Perry Barr - Elected - Jon Hung - LIB DEM HOLD and Morriam Jan - LIB DEM HOLD
  • Perry Common - Elected - Joanne Jillian Bermingham - LAB GAIN
  • Pype Hayes - Elected - Basharat Mahmood - LAB HOLD
  • Quinton - Elected - Samantha Forsyth - LAB & CO-OP HOLD and Lauren Rainbow - LAB & CO-OP GAIN
  • Rubery and Rednal - Elected - Adrian Joseph Delaney - CON HOLD
  • Shard End - Elected - Ian Anthony Ward - LAB HOLD
  • Sheldon - Elected - Colin Francis Green - LIB DEM HOLD and Paul Calvin Tilsley - LIB DEM HOLD
  • Small Heath - Elected - Shabino Bano - LAB HOLD and Saqib Khan - LAB HOLD
  • Soho and Jewellery Quarter - Elected - Chaman Lal - LAB HOLD and Sybil Eurlena Spence - LAB HOLD
  • South Yardley - Elected - Zaker Ullah Choudhry - LIB DEM HOLD
  • Sparkbrook and Balsall Heath East - Elected - Shabrana Hussain - LAB HOLD and Mohammed Azim - LAB HOLD
  • Sparkhill - Elected - Nicky Brennan - LAB HOLD and Rashad Mahmood LAB HOLD

Sandwell Council

Counting for Sandwell Council votes began almost immediately after the polls closed at 10am.

The count took place at Tipton Sports Academy in Tipton, and a full declaration was made in the early hours of this morning (6 May)

Labour made two gains in the 2022 elections, as the number of seats on the council rose from 59 seats to 61.

The Conservatives gained one seat, moving their seats on the council from nine to 10.

Sheffield's election count did not get underway until 2.50am this morning (Friday, May 6) after a man reportedly threatened staff at a polling station in Fulwood

Sandwell Together had two seats heading into the 2022 elections, and they lost one seat in yesterday’s vote.

Below is the full list of winning candidates from each ward in Sandwell Council from the 2022 Local Elections.

Included in each listing is the number of votes for each candidate in each ward, with results being provided by Sandwell Council.

The overall average turnout across Sandwell was 26.12%

Solihull Council

Counting for Solihull Council began at 9am Counting for Solihull Borough Council seats is set to begin at 9am on Friday.

Voter turnout was 33%, which is a decrease fromon 38% at the 2021 Local Elections.

The results show the Conservatives have retained control. The current political make up of the borough council is now:

Conservatives: 28

Green: 14

Lib Dem: 5

Independent: 4

You can see the results for each of the 17 wards here

The Conservatives gained one seat, while the Liberal Democrats and Green Party gained two each.

A message from the editor:

Thank you for reading. BirminghamWorld is Birmingham’s latest news website, championing everything that is great about our city - reporting on news, lifestyle and sport. Find out more about who’s who in the team, and our editorial values. We want to start a community among our readers, so please follow us on Facebook,Twitter and Instagram, and keep the conversation going.