PREVIEW: Embrace tour supports new album How To Be A Person Like Other People

CHART-topping indie stars Embrace have announced a summer release for their next album and a UK tour bringing them this way.

PRE-ORDER ALBUM: Eighth studio album How To Be A Person Like Other People will be released on their own Mo’betta label, through Townsend Music, on August 26, 2022 – preorder now at

BUY TICKETS: A supporting tour will see them play Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Newcastle, Nottingham, Sheffield, Cardiff, Birmingham, London, Manchester and Norwich. Support on all dates comes from Lottery Winners. Tickets go on sale 10am on Friday, April 22, at

Produced by the band’s singer songwriter and guitarist Richard McNamara, older brother of lead singer Danny, the new album is the follow-up to the band’s 2018 top five album Love Is A Basic Need.

Richard said of the new album: “Whenever we put out a new album it’s always a really big deal to us, we put everything we have into it.

"We know that there’s something about what we do that people love, that they just don’t get from others bands. It’s like a pact, they want us to be intimate and personal and autobiographical, but they also want us to be confident and rousing and anthemic.

"It sounds like a contradiction, but I think when we’re at our best we somehow pull it off. I think in that sense this album is the most Embrace album we’ve ever made”.

On the subject of the album title, Danny said: “I met my wife nearly ten years ago now, we have an incredible daughter and another on the way, but the most loving thing she's done for me over the years is to try to show me how to love, how to feel, how to be a person like other people.

"This album is about that journey, that story, and it's the most joyous, most uplifting, most upbeat, most soulful thing we've ever done. I can’t wait for everyone to hear it”.

Of the tour Danny added: “After being away for so long we can't wait to get out there and play live again. Our last proper gigs were among the very last before lockdown, so it's felt like an age.

"To be playing in the bigger places again is amazing too. Embrace has always been as much about the crowd as it is about the band so I'm sure it's going to be epic!”

Embrace, which also includes bass player Steve Firth, drummer Mike Heaton and keyboardist Mickey Dale, formed in Bailiff Bridge, West Yorkshire, in 1990.

They have released seven studio albums, including number ones The Good Will Out (1998), Out of Nothing (2004) and This New Day (2006).

The band’s highest charting UK single to date is Nature's Law, which reached number two in 2006.



Embrace announce release date for new album How To Be A Person Like Other PeopleEmbrace announce release date for new album How To Be A Person Like Other People
Embrace announce release date for new album How To Be A Person Like Other People

31 – Aberdeen Music Hall


1 – Edinburgh O2 Academy

2 – Newcastle Northumbria University

3 – Nottingham Rock City

4 – Sheffield O2 Academy

6 – Cardiff Tramshed

8 – Birmingham O2 Institute

9 – London Brixton Academy

10 – Manchester O2 Apollo

11 – Norwich University of East Anglia

Related topics: