21 fantastic photos of Crufts from 1914 to 1957

We’re celebrating the return of Crufts with these awesome pictures of the earlier days of the annual held at the NEC

It’s the biggest annual dog event in the world.

Each year thousands of people visit the NEC with their prized pooches with their amazing skills and talent.

It’s a fantastic opportunity to stock up on the latest doggy goods too - with so many exhibitors with some great products.

But it wasn’t always like this.

The dog show was originally set up by Charles Cruft in 1891.

The first shows took place at the Royal Agricultural Hall in Islington, London.

There were 2,437 entries and 36 breeds at the first one.

It moved to Olympia in London in 1948 and to Earls Court in 1979.

It finally moved to its present home - the NEC - in 1991 where it’s Centenary Show was celebrated.

There have been so many developments since then.

Here are 21 pictures of those earlier years.

The one at the top of this story shows competitors waiting outside the Agricultural Hall for Crufts Dog Show with sisters on the left, arriving with arms and baskets full of Pekinese on 11th February 1914

The photos provide a fascinating insight into the show that has captured the imagination of the world.

But there’s one thing that hasn’t changed throughout time - it’s still a celebration of dogs!

Page 1 of 5